Please note that only Approved bills can be voided. Draft or Pending Approval bills must be deleted. For more information, see the Deleting Bills article.
Once a bill has been approved and is in the 'Awaiting Payment' state, changes can no longer be made to line entries. You can however add notes in the Subject, Purchase Order, Discount Notes, and Invoice Notes sections, as well as change the Invoice ID.
You can edit the bill within the Awaiting Payment area by clicking the 'Edit' quick link, or from inside the bill.
Once you click on Edit, you will see the areas that you can add notes to as well as update the Invoice ID. For information on allowing editing of Approved bills, please click here.
Should you need to start the bill over, it can be voided. Please note that voiding a bill will undo any edits that you had not previously chosen to reflect back in the matter for time and expense entries (only the date, quantity, rate, and notes will remain intact). Any other changes, edits and discounts will be removed and remaining items will move to the "Billable Clients" state where you can start over.
You can void the bill within the Awaiting Payment area by clicking the 'Void' quick link, or from inside the bill.Click OK from the Warning pop-up:
Once voided, you can re-generate a new bill from within the 'Billable Client's state. The voided bill will retain its bill number and can be viewed from with the 'All' Bills area for tracking purposes.
Once a partial or full payment has been made to a bill, the void action is removed. To void the bill, any payments and credits notes must first be deleted. To delete Payments and Credit Notes, locate the bill from the Awaiting Payment, Paid or All bills tab, locate the bill then click on the bill ID or "View" quick links to view the bill.
Next click on the "Payments" tab and click on "Delete" below each payment, if any. Please ensure to record payment details should you wish to re-enter them at a later time. When deleting a payment you will be asked to confirm or reject the action by respectively clicking "OK" or "Cancel" in the dialogue box that appears.
Next, click on the "Credit Notes" tab and click "Delete" below any Credits, if any. When deleting a credit note you will be asked to confirm or reject the action by respectively clicking "OK" or "Cancel" in the dialogue box that appears.
Once all payments and credit notes have been deleted, the bill will return to the "Awaiting Payment" state. The "Void" action can now be located on the far right side of the "Invoice Detail" header in the Actions drop-down.
Once the bill has been voided, it can be found in the "All" tab.
Once your invoice has been voided, the Time and Expenses return to an unbilled state. This means that you can create a new invoice for these items underneath the Billable Clients tab.
Once on Billable Clients, select Filter on the right hand side. From the Filter options, designate the Contact or Matter, and the specific Dates that the entries you wish to re-bill for appear within.
More details on creating invoices can be seen here.
If you have made any direct changes or edits to a bill, they will be deleted once you void the bill, unless you opted to reflect those changes back to the matter by selecting "Update Original Record" on the edit screen. More on editing invoices can be read here.