- Determine when to use the "revoke and purge" option in the Quickbooks Online Sync configuration
- Clio Web App
- Quickbooks Online
Purging will not delete any items (Contacts, Invoices, etc.) from your QuickBooks Online account, but will clear the cache of the sync (meaning this will delete all records of the sync and the links established through it). The Revoke and Purge option should only be used if you intend to clear out your Quickbooks Online Account by manually deleting all data, and starting fresh. Reconnecting the accounts without deleting all of the data in QuickBooks would result in many duplicates.
When revoking Clio's access to your QuickBooks Online account, you have the option to only Revoke Clio's access or to Revoke and Purge it completely. When you only Revoke access, the links (cache) between your synced data will remain so that Clio will not send over duplicate entries if you choose to re-establish this sync.
The Revoke and Purge option will delete all of the links between your Clio and QuickBooks Contacts, Invoices, and Payments. This will allow you to reconnect your QuickBooks Online account to Clio with a clean start. Please note that you should only choose the "Revoke and Purge" option if you are also removing the data from your QuickBooks Online account.