Introducing The Law Community, the online community just for Clio customers. Sign up now.

Do Client Numbers Get Reused after Contact Is Deleted?

Objective:

  • What number will the next contact have for a client number if I deleted the last created Contact?
  • Can I Change the Client Number That's Used in Matter?

Environment:

  • Clio Manage

Additional Information:

  • n/a

Answer:

No, this number cannot be changed. It is based on the order that the contacts were entered into Clio.
Every contact is assigned a unique number and in ascending order. If you delete a contact, it will still hold that number's place and new contact's numbers will continue to ascend.

 For example, if you deleted the last created contact and it was client number 100, then the next Contact you create will have the client number 101.

Was this article helpful?
This information is confusing or wrong
This isn't the information that I was looking for
I don't like this functionality