The 2020 Legal Trends Report is now available. Get the latest insights here.

What Happens if I Deactivate a User in Clio Manage?

Objective:

  • If we remove users (licenses) from our account, what data do we lose?
  • What happens if we deactivate a user?
  • Is information lost when a user is Deactivated?
  • Deactivated users recorded information

Environment:

  • Clio Manage 

Additional Information:

  • n/a

Answer:

  • A user that has been Deactivated will no longer be able to sign in to Clio Manage. If the user is currently logged in, once the screen refreshes they will be logged out of Clio
  • You can choose to remove the licenses on your next bill. If you uncheck this box, the license will remain open on your account.

What work could be impacted by deactivating a user:

  • Matters
  • Tasks
  • Events
    • If they are still the owner of events assigned to any active or pending matter, you will be prompted to reassign this work. How do I reassign work from users
    • If the user has created any Zoom meetings, the link will be removed from the event.
    • Their calendar will be removed from all Clio Accounts.
  • Secure Messages
    • Although no data will be deleted, secure messages with this user may not be accessible (even to Account Owner/Admins).

deactivate_user.png

Was this article helpful?
This information is confusing or wrong
This isn't the information that I was looking for
I don't like this functionality