The 2020 Legal Trends Report is now available. Get the latest insights here.

What Happens to a Matter With Visibility Permissions Set to 'Me' if My User is Disabled?

Objective:

  • Disable a User who has Matters visible to only themselves
  • See a Matter that used to be owned by an employee who's left

Environment:

  • Clio Manage

Additional Information:

  • Matter Permissions affect who can or cannot see a Matter. Read more about them here
  • When Matter permissions are set to Me, that does not prevent other Users from viewing billing and reports associated with that Matter. The Me permission on a Matter allows certain information to be hidden such as Documents, Notes, and Matter details.

Answer:

If a Matter has visibility Permissions set to Me and your User is disabled, the Matter visibility Permissions do not change, and the Matter will remain invisible to other Users. This means that no other Users on the Account, including Users with Administrative permissions, will be able to view that Matter until you change the visibility Permissions to include other Users.

This is a security measure put in place to ensure client privacy and ethical walls are maintained, even when a User is disabled.

Was this article helpful?
This information is confusing or wrong
This isn't the information that I was looking for
I don't like this functionality