Please note that only Approved bills can be voided. Draft or Pending Approval bills must be deleted. For more information, please see Deleting Bills.
By default, once a Bill has been approved and is in the "Unpaid" state, changes can no longer be made to line entries. You can however add notes in the Subject, Purchase Order, Discount Notes, and Invoice Notes sections, as well as change the Invoice ID. For information on allowing editing of Approved bills, please click here.
You can edit the Bill within the Awaiting Payment area by clicking the Edit quick link, or from inside the Bill.
When Viewing the Bill
Once you click on Edit, you will see the areas where you can add notes, and where to update the Invoice ID.
Should you need to start the Bill over, it can be voided. Please note that voiding a Bill will undo any edits that you had not previously chosen to reflect back in the matter for time and expense entries (only the date, quantity, rate, and notes will remain intact). Any other changes, edits and discounts will be removed and remaining items will move to the "Billable Clients" state where you can start over.
You can void the bill within the Unpaid area by clicking the Void bill quick link, or from inside the Bill.
Click Void Invoice in the warning pop-up to confirm:
Once voided, you can re-generate a new bill from within the "Billable Clients" state. The voided bill will retain its Bill number so long as you re-generate it before generating any new bills, and can be viewed from with the "Archive" Bills area for tracking purposes.
Once a partial or full payment has been made to a bill, the void action is removed. To void the bill, any payments and credits notes must first be deleted. To delete Payments and Credit Notes, locate the bill from the Unpaid, Paid or All bills tabs, then click on the Bill ID or View bill quick link to view the bill.
Next click on the Payments tab and click on Delete on each payment, if any. Please ensure to record payment details should you wish to re-enter them at a later time.
When deleting a payment, you will be asked to confirm or reject the action by clicking Delete or Cancel in the dialogue box that appears.
Next, click on the Credit Notes tab and click Delete on credits notes, if any.
When deleting a credit note, you will be asked to confirm or reject the action by clicking Delete or Cancel in the dialogue box that appears.
Once all Payments and Credit Notes have been deleted, the bill will return to the "Unpaid" state. The Void action is now available in the More Actions drop-down.
Once the bill has been voided, it can be found in the "Archive" tab.
Once your Bill has been voided, the Time and Expenses return to an unbilled state. This means that you can create a new invoice for these items underneath the "Billable Clients" tab.
Once on "Billable Clients", select Filter on the right hand side. From the Filter options, designate the Contact or Matter, and the specific Dates that the entries you wish to re-bill. Then select Search.
More details on creating invoices can be seen here.
If you have made any direct changes or edits to a bill, they will be deleted once you void the Bill, unless you opted to reflect those changes back to the Matter by selecting "Update Original Record" on the Bill Edit screen. More on editing invoices can be read here.