Learn more about the new Clio experience!

New Clio Webinars
Register now!

Editing and Deleting Contacts

Contents

Editing Contacts
Deleting Contacts

Editing Contacts

From the "Contacts" link at the top of the page, click the Edit link underneath the appropriate contact within any of your contact lists. This will take you to the contact edit form where you can modify and apply any necessary changes.   

When viewing a single contact, the edit link can be found on the far right side of the "Contact Information" header.  

Deleting Contacts

From the "Contacts" link at the top of the page, click the delete link underneath the appropriate contact within any of your contact lists. When deleting a contact you will be asked to confirm or reject the action by respectively clicking "OK" or "Cancel" in the dialogue box that appears.  Please note this is a permanent action.  

When viewing a single contact, the delete action can be located on the far right side of the "Contact Information" header: 

Extreme caution should be exercised when deleting a contact as this action can have compound repercussions with respect to related information stored in Clio. Although in most cases non-contact information is preserved, this information is at risk of being "orphaned", having lost context gained through relationships.

If you delete a contact in error you may be able to recover it via the recover tool. For more information, see the Undo a Deletion (Recovery Bin) article.