Collect eCheck and card payments directly through Clio. Find out how.

Deleting Bills

When you delete a bill, all time and expense entries go back to an unbilled state and can be billed again. If you made any edits to these entries after the bill was generated and checked the box for Update records, the entries will be updated with those edits when you re-generate the bill. If this box was not checked, the entries will not have those edits once you delete and re-create the bill. 

You can delete a bill from either the billing index or by viewing a single bill. When the bill is deleted, it can be found in the Archive subtab.

Note: Only bills in draft and pending approval can be deleted. Unpaid and paid bills can only be voided. Learn more about voiding bills in this article.

Billing index

  1. Go to the Billing tab from the left navigation menu.
  2. Locate the bill in either the Draft or Pending approval subtabs.
  3. Select the dropdown arrow next to Edit and choose Delete bill.
  4. When the warning prompt appears, select Delete invoice.

Screen_Shot_2022-06-20_at_09.37.10_AM.png

Viewing single bill

  1. Go to the Billing tab from the left navigation menu.
  2. Locate the bill in either the Draft or Pending approval subtabs.
  3. Click the bill Id.
  4. Click More actions and select Delete.
  5. When the warning prompt appears, select Delete invoice.

Screen_Shot_2018-06-11_at_11.29.36_AM.png

Was this article helpful?
This information is confusing or wrong
This isn't the information that I was looking for
I don't like this functionality