Virtual meetup: How to Win and Retain Clients by Automating Communication. Register now.

Is There Anything I Should Do Before Deactivating a User if I Have Their Login Credentials?

Objective:

  • What steps should I take before Deactivating a User

Environment:

  • Clio Manage
  • Excel

Additional Information:

  • Clio does not delete any information when a user is disabled
  • When a Calendar is shared with a user it will appear in that user's sidebar, even if the sharing user is later disabled

Answer:

While logged in as the user to be disabled:

  1. Ensure that there are no Matters with permissions set to Me:
    1. Export all of your Matters in CSV format (see here)
    2. Open the export in Excel 
    3. Under column Q "Group" look for any Matters that show the disabled User's name
    4. For each one, in Clio change that Matter's permission (see here)
  2. Ensure that Events are properly transferred and shared:
    1. View the users' Calendars, and manually change each event to a new owner (see here)
    2. Un-share any Calendars owned by this user (see here)
  3. Reassign any recurring Tasks which are assigned to this user (see here)

 

Was this article helpful?
This information is confusing or wrong
This isn't the information that I was looking for
I don't like this functionality